So I sometimes wish I didn’t have a job or a live or a family. cause then I could actually spend more time being lazy and doing the projects I want to do. As it stands I am just being too lazy to actually finish anything. My WW2 build is postponed until I get a day off with nice weather and free time (spraypainting needs to be done outside). My HG Sumo hand painting experiment however is delayed because of my lazyness. Still lets call this WIP 1 of my Sumo build. 

ah, the good old days.

So I bought an old Sumo 1/144 scale kit. I found it dirty cheap at a small hobby store and thought it would be a nice kit to experiment with. I would glue seamlines, do some scratchbuilding or modifications and ofcourse paint it. Since I can’t afford an airbrush (plus I wouldn’t have the space required for a decent setup) and I am getting annoyed of using spraycans. I thought of handpainting this kit. The healthy and environment friendly solution. 

Almost like a Lego kit.

So I started snapping and glueing pieces. But I noticed that just glueing pieces together didn’t help much to remove seamlines. I could still see the seamlines. Some were like canyons in the plastic (you could hear the echo). So it was time to use putty. I bought Tamiya putty and started filling seamlines. The putty is really stinky and kinda messy as well. It never fully stayed where I wanted it plus it seemed to harden quickly. Eventually though it worked out decently. In hindsight I probably should have taken a little more time for some parts though. but for a first try at removing seamlines I am satisfied. 

seamlines make me High (on glue fumes)
clunky perfection?

So how about modifications. well I didn’t really like the hollow looking backpack so I decided to fill the edges with putty and make it look like part of the main body. this was a little more challenging and the first few attempts at filling the gaps were unsuccesful. The putty would fill the gap and then it would harden and a small air bubble would arise. So I opted for a lot of putty and then sanding a little more later. 
Well that was what I did afterwards. Sanding, lots and lots of sanding. Sanding the glue stains. Sanding the putty residue. Sanding the backpack. 

putty patrol
Sandpaper ready! go!
another pointy joke

After that I had 2 weeks to paint before I would go on holiday, but lazyness prevented me from finishing that part of the build. I bought the paints, the brushes and everything. Just haven’t started. So look forward to a finished Sumo next month. Unless I get distracted by something else. 
Matamune Gundam 

Leave a comment